Dedication to career and community honoured at Notre Dame

12 April 2019

The University of Notre Dame Australia’s Fremantle Campus hosted its annual Awards Ceremony recently, honouring the academic and community-driven achievements of students and staff.

More than 220 people filled the University’s Drill Hall on Thursday 21 March for the ceremony, including the Board of Governors, scholarship and award donors, Academics, distinguished alumni and families.

A range of scholarships was awarded to commencing students, recognising not only their academic excellence but also their exceptional personal qualities and dedication to their communities.

Notre Dame students and graduates across eight of the Schools were then presented with awards highlighting their dedication to their chosen field, volunteer service and commitment to the Catholic goals of the University.

Research Fellow Anna Dwyer and Aboriginal Studies Coordinator Gillian Kennedy became the first academics from Notre Dame’s Nulungu Research Institute to receive The Vice Chancellor’s Award for Initiatives That Enhance Student Learning.

The highest academic award, The University Medal, was presented to Nursing student Alexandra Brindley, recognising her as the highest achieving graduate of 2018.

In addition to her professionalism and dedication, Alexandra was commended by patients and colleagues for her compassionate and caring manner. During her studies, she was awarded both the Indigenous Health Award and the Dean’s Award for Excellence.


The Bernie and Mary Prindiville Family Scholarship: Clare Wray
The Wilhelm & Elizabeth Klein Nursing Scholarship: Casey Tunbridge
The Dianne Wansbrough Scholarship: Allegra Biagioni
The Prindiville Scholarship: Charlie McCormack
The Roy & Amy Galvin Scholarship: Tia McNulty
The Sacred Heart Parish Scholarship: Mikayla Comito
The Vice Chancellor’s Scholarship: Hannah Faller
The Willetton Parish Scholarship: Rachael Simmonds
The Oblate Fathers’ Scholarship: Jacob Wright
The HELYRON Education Scholarship: Galvin Francisco
The T.A.S. Scholarship: Trinity Westlake
The Monsignor E. Sullivan Scholarship: Emma Jackson
The Leonard & Ursula Keating Scholarship: Rhiannon Sweeney
The Chisholm Catholic College Scholarship: Libby Hynes

Student Awards

The V&E Felstead Award:

  • School of Medicine: Karen Motta
  • School of Medicine: Breanna Hollow
  • School of Nursing and Midwifery: Alexandra Hooper

The Long Family Award: Jason Yeap

The Vice Chancellor’s Medal:

  • School of Arts & Sciences: Brianna Sanders
  • School of Business: Reid Bevan
  • School of Education: Christopher Beattie
  • School of Health Science: Laura Clarke
  • School of Law: Finn Edwards
  • School of Nursing and Midwifery: Isabella Dowling
  • School of Philosophy & Theology: Errol Lobo
  • School of Physiotherapy: Caitlin Appelbee

The Vice Chancellor’s Postgraduate Medal: Lina Butenschoen

The University Medal: Alexandra Brindley

The Vice Chancellor’s Award for Teaching (Undergraduate Teaching): Dr Gregory Hine (School of Education, Fremantle).

The Vice Chancellor’s Award for Initiatives That Enhance Student Learning (Indigenous Education): Anna Dwyer and Gillian Kennedy (Nulungu Research Institute, Broome).

Service Awards

The Archbishop Foley Award: Suneeth Fernandez
The Brother Gerard T Faulkner Award: Ethan Williams
The Helen Lombard Award: Ashley Carvalho
The Saint Mary MacKillop Award: Aharon Friedland
The Toby Hicks Service to Student Community Award: Dylan Gojak

Media Contact: