Notre Dame student named as 2020 Premier’s Science Award finalist

11 August 2020

Second year Notre Dame Medicine student Kelly Reynolds has been selected as a finalist for Shell Aboriginal STEM Student of the Year for her work in Aboriginal healthcare.

A total of 19 ground-breaking Western Australian scientists have been named as finalists in this year's Premier's Science Awards.

The list of finalists in the awards, which recognise and celebrate the outstanding scientific research and engagement taking place across the State, was released on the eve of National Science Week (August 15-23).

The awards cover all fields of science including medical, natural, applied and technological science, engineering and mathematics.

Kelly is a proud Nyungar woman from the Esperance region and has a passion for science and research. She has previously worked as a Research Project Officer with the Centre for Aboriginal Medical and Dental Health in conjunction with the NHMRC funded National Institute of Dementia Research to develop an Indigenous Dementia Roadmap & Action Plan.

Professor David Paul said the news is “fantastic” and highlighted some of the extensive ongoing work Kelly is undertaking.

“Kelly was an intern at St John of God Hospital (Subiaco) with the Gynaecology Oncology Research Group. She is also the SoMF’s Australian Indigenous Doctors Association student representative, as well as a member of the St John of God Health Care Reconciliation Action Plan Committee, and mentors young Aboriginal women to achieve success in high school studies. Her passion is to become a clinician researcher and hopes to complete a PhD after completing her medical studies.”

Western Australia Premier Mark McGowan said the COVID-19 pandemic has made everyone aware of the role science plays in our society.

"The COVID-19 pandemic has made us all aware of the role science plays in our day-to-day lives and, now more than ever, we must recognise and celebrate the research and technological achievements of Western Australia's science community.

"Strengthening participation in STEM has been prioritised by this Government to encourage a globally competitive workforce, with the skills to drive WA's technological future and create more jobs.

"I would like to congratulate this year's finalists on their outstanding scientific achievements and the contributions they're making to foster an innovative STEM culture in Western Australia."

Science Minister Dave Kelly echoed these sentiments and added that “The finalists announced today represent our diverse scientific community, and all serve as role models for those who wish to make a positive contribution to society through STEM studies and careers."

For more information, visit the Government of Western Australia Department of Jobs, Tourism, Science and Innovation website.

Media Contact: Breyon Gibbs : +61 8 9433 0569 |