Nulungu Events

2020 Talking Heads Seminar Series

The 2020 Talking Heads Seminar Series is yet to be finalised, and details will appear here as soon as they are confirmed.

November

Wednesday 4th November 2020
Micklo Corpus & Wade Freeman
Science, History and Community: Bringing the Dinosaur Coast story to life

October

Wednesday 21st October 2020
Anne Jennings
Innovative, Creative Community and Ecological Economics Projects in Broome

September

Wednesday 2nd September 2020
Tom Gannon & Thomas Saunders
Lugger Language: isolation and collaboration

Wednesday 23rd September 2020
Deb Hannagan & Mystique Dia
Developing and adapting an early years literacy program for Aboriginal communities

Wednesday 30th September 2020
Rosemary (Ro) Hill, Natalie Stoeckl, & Sarah Laborde
Research to ‘make a difference’ with Traditional Owners in the Martuwarra/Fitzroy River Catchment

August

Wednesday 5th August 2020
Dr Laurie Guimond (Nulungu Adjunct Research Fellow)
Intercultural bridges across the Romaine River flowing through the Nitassinan and Minganie (North Shore, Québec)

Wednesday 19th August 2020
Mr Karl Neuenfeldt
Perfect Pearls: Australian Pearling Songs

2019 Talking Heads Seminar Series

May

Tuesday 7th May 2019
Ms. Ninielia (Nini) Mills
Yawuru’s Mabu Liyan Development Approach

Wednesday 15th May 2019
Presenters: Prof. Jeanette Ward, Mr. Chicky Clements, Mr. Ray Christophers & Ms. Sarah Morris
Environmental and Public Health in the Kimberley: Developments, Directions and Data.

Wednesday 29th May 2019
Presenters: John Rastus, Jeannie Dutchie, Rona Charles (Wilinggin Aboriginal Corporation) and Mel Marshall (Nulungu)
Wanjina oden barnja mirndi: recording cultural stories and places on the road to Jilariba (Munja)

June

Tuesday 11th June 2019
Presenter: Michael Dockerty
Inter-generational Transmission of Indigenous Culture and Children’s Wellbeing

Wednesday 12th June 2019
Presenter: Mr. Bart Pigram (Owner/Operator Narlijia Experiences Broome)
Cultural Enterprise: The Balance of Survival!

Wednesday 26th June 2019
Presenters: Stephen Muecke, Dan Sherrell & Robyn Wells
Knut Dahl in the West Kimberley

July

Wednesday 3rd July
Presenters: Ms Ariadne Gorring (Atlantic Fellow for Social Equity, Melbourne University)
Creating a more fair and equitable society starts with us

Wednesday 10th July 2019
Presenters: Sally Treloyn, Johnny Divilli & Rona Charles
Making Junba good in the Kimberley: Applied (ethnomusicological) research and its discontents

Wednesday 17th July 2019
Presenter: Willi Lempert
“Down the Track”: Kimberley Indigenous Media Futures

Wednesday 24th July 2019
Presenters: Michelle Pyke, the Bardi Jawi Rangers and the Nyul Nyul Rangers
Investigating traditional freshwater places on Bardi Jawi and Nyul Nyul Country through a collaborative research project

August

Wednesday 14th August 2019
Presenter: Stefanie Oliver
‘Isolation no more: Can Person-Centred Care assist inclusion for Kimberley peoples impacted by Tuberculosis or Leprosy infection? A review of the PeTaL project.’

Wednesday 21st August 2019
Presenters: Terry Cox
‘Aboriginal community understandings of dementia’

September

Wednesday 4th September 2019
Presenters: Sandra Wooltorton, Anna Dwyer, Judith Wilks and John Guenther
Promoting Aboriginal Student Engagement and Success in Tertiary Education in Remote Locations

Monday 9th September 2019
Presenters: Brad Riley and Lily O’Neill
Renewable Energy Development on the Indigenous Estate

Wednesday 18th September 2019
Presenter: Dr Anne Poelina
Voices for the Mardoowarra

October

Wednesday 16th October 2019
Presenters: Debra Hannagan, Mystique Dia
Literacy Acquisition for Pre-primary Students: Developmentally and Culturally Informed Practice.

Wednesday 30th October 2019
Presenter: Judy Fisher
‘The most recent knowledge - interactions between health, climate, land and Indigenous people’

November

Wednesday 13th November 2019
Presenter: Dr Bill Kruse
‘The Role of Environmental NGOs in Indigenous Land and Sea Management in Atlantic Canada and Nunatsiavut. Reflections on a three month exchange with Oceans North in Halifax, Canada’

Wednesday 27th November 2019
Presenter: Kat Taylor
‘Moves towards Co-Governance of Living Waters in Australia’