Fellowships in Learning and Teaching

Advance HE (formerly Higher Education Academy) UK

The vision of Advance HE is to ensure that the standing of higher education has a world-class reputation and is recognised for transforming lives, enriching society and developing the economy for the better. Therefore, Advance HE has been created to be “of and for the sector” with the aims: to create an inclusive culture that champions the continuous development of teaching, leadership and research; and to promote professional practices in higher education that lead to improved outcomes for the benefit of students, staff and society.

Advance HE, through their Higher Education Academy (HEA), offers a Fellowship Scheme that recognises personal and institutional commitment to professionalism in learning and teaching in higher education. Across four categories, from Associate to Principal, the Fellowship Scheme provides individuals with recognition of their practice, impact and leadership in teaching and learning. HEA Fellowships are embedded in the UK Professional Standards Framework and have been adopted by increasing numbers of higher education institutions globally, from the Americas to Australasia. Individuals can identify their expertise with the entitlement to use post-nominal letters (AFHEA, FHEA, SFHEA, PFHEA).

Associate Fellow (AFHEA)

  • Lesley McNabb

Fellows (FHEA)

  • Michelle Gorzanelli
  • Helen Rogers

Senior Fellows (SFHEA)

  • Frank Bate
  • Inna Geoghegan
  • Sally Robertson
  • Ainslie Robinson
  • Thuan Thai

Principal Fellows (PFHEA)

  • Kathie Ardzejewska
  • Carole Steketee

Higher Education Research and Development Society of Australasia (HERDSA)

HERDSA is a scholarly society that was established in 1972 to promote the development of higher education policy, practice and the study of teaching and learning. HERDSA encourages and disseminates research on teaching and learning and also works to build strong academic communities committed to the advancement of higher education.

The HERDSA Fellowship Scheme offers its members an opportunity to be part of a vibrant community of practitioners and researchers interested in improving teaching and learning in tertiary education. The Fellowship Scheme seeks to improve the quality of educational practice through critical reflection, recognise and reward good educational practice, and offers an avenue for peer collaboration among the community of Fellows and Associate Fellows. Members who are awarded a Fellowship or Associate Fellowship have the right to use the post-nominals FHERDSA or AFHERDSA, as appropriate.

Australian & New Zealand Association for Health Professional Educators (ANZAHPE)

The Australian & New Zealand Association for Health Professional Educators (ANZAHPE) is the peak organisation for practitioners involved in the education and training of health professionals in Australia and New Zealand. ANZAHPE is comprised of clinicians, academic educators and students, and supports and advances education in the health care professions.

Current members of ANZAHPE who are appropriately qualified can apply for recognition as Fellows or Associate Fellows of the Association and the right to use the post-nominals FANZAHPE or AFANZAHPE, as appropriate.  The ANZAHPE Fellowship Scheme has been devised in order to fulfil the following goals: to engender a culture of mentorship and encouragement through which more senior members of ANZAHPE can support the development of those with less experience; chart a clear pathway through which emerging health professional educators can develop expertise, gain experience and undertake scholarly educational practice; and provide a means through which ANZAHPE members who have attained particular expertise in health professional education through scholarly practice can be recognised within their own institutions and the broader world.

Australasian Society for the Computers in Learning in Tertiary Education (ASCILITE)

ASCILITE is a globally recognised and professionally connected community of professionals and academics working in fields associated with the educational and pedagogical uses of technologies. As an incorporated not-for-profit professional association, ASCILITE seeks to shape the future of tertiary education, particularly through enabling and sharing high quality research, innovation and evidence-based technology-enhanced practices. ASCILITE encourages members to consider certification with CMALT Australasia,  which is offered in partnership with the Association for Learning Technology (ALT) UK. The scheme is a form of professional accreditation that enables people whose work involves learning technologies to have their experience and capabilities certified by peers, and to demonstrate that they are taking a committed approach to their professional development. As a certified member of ALT, members can increase the impact of their professional record or CV and use “CMALT” as post-nominal letters.