Awards and grants

High quality teaching is integral to the Objects and strategic goals of the University. The annual awards and grants promote, recognise and reward high quality teaching practices and student outcomes. They celebrate the innovative and sustained ways that individual teachers, teams of teachers and professional staff improve student learning and engagement.

Vice Chancellor’s Awards (PELT)

These awards recognise the University’s high achievers in teaching and support of teaching and learning. Awards are open to all Academic and General staff members. Students, staff and colleagues can recommend a staff member for the award and staff can also nominate themselves or their team. Nominations open in May and close in November. Award applications are due in December.

Find out more

National Australian Awards for University Teaching

The Australian Awards for University Teaching (AAUT) were established in 1997 by the Australian Government to celebrate and reward excellence in university teaching. Since then, the Awards have become a valued form of recognition for university educators Australia wide.

Find out more

Seed Grants for Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL) Projects

These competitive internal grants assist staff to conduct University-based SoTL projects. Project proposals are invited for the development and implementation of sustainable innovations that respond to an issue or challenge in learning and teaching at the University. Projects are expected to have a positive impact on the educational outcomes of Notre Dame’s students. Successful proposals receive funding for one year. The call for grant proposals opens in September each year, and project funds are to be expended in the following year.

Find out more

Provost SoTL Prize and Educator Scholar Conference (ESC) Awards

The Provost Prize for Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL) Paper is awarded for the paper that makes the most significant contribution to enhancing student learning.

The Learning and Teaching Office presents the annual Educator Scholar Conference and provides several awards to recognise the scholarly work of Notre Dame staff. The Conference Committee awards prizes for best abstract in several categories.

Find out more

Fellowships in Learning and Teaching

Fellowships recognise personal and institutional commitment to professionalism in learning and teaching in higher education. They are professional recognition for commitment to teaching, leading and supporting colleagues in teaching and enhancing student learning. Fellowship opportunities are available from Advance HE (HEA Fellows), HERDSA, ANZAHPE and ASCILITE

Find out more

Other Awards and Grants

More awards and grants from the University’s Research Office and from relevant external organisations and professional associations.

Find out more